The Council consists of a chairperson and deputy chairperson, and 16 members and their substitutes, who are nominated for three-year terms. The present term expires on September 30th, 2018.

Eija Velitski, Deputy Chief / District prosecutor, The Prosecutor´s Office of Helsinki

Deputy Chair
Seppo Kolehmainen, National Police Commissioner, National Police Board

Members of the Council (personal substitutes in parenthesis)

Aarne Kinnunen, Deputy Head of Department, Ministry of Justice, Department of Criminal Policy
(Maria Wakeham-Hartonen, Senior Specialist, Ministry of Justice, Unit for Democracy, Language Affairs and Fundamental Rights

Jani Kotoaro, Lawyer, Criminal Sanctions Agency
(Pia Sandvik, Justice, Helsinki Court of Appeal)

Heikki Lausmaa, Assistant Police Commissioner, National Police Board
(Jarmo Heinonen, Chief Inspector, Helsinki Police Department)

Heidi Kankainen, Chief Superintendent, Ministry of the Interior, Police Department
(Ari Evwaraye, Strategy Director, Ministry of the Interior )

Immo Parviainen, Counsellor for Cultural Affairs, Ministry of Education
(Kristina Kaihari, Counsellor of Education, Finnish National Board of Education)

Ismo Tuominen, Ministerial Counsellor, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health, Department for Promotion of Welfare and Health
(Tapani Aaltela, Senior Legal Adviser, Ministry of Social Affairs and Health, Department for Occupational Safety and Health)

Helena Ewalds, Development Manager, National Institute for Health and Welfare
(Eeva Nykänen, Senior Researcher, National Institute for Health and Welfare)

Päivi Kurikka, Senior Adviser, Association of Finnish Local and Regional Authorities
(Matti Koskinen, Head of Unit, City of Helsinki, City Executive Office, Safety and Preparedness Unit)

Hanna-Lena Fallenius-Tuurihalme, Legal Adviser, Ministry of the Environment
Sari Puustinen, Researcher, Aalto University, Department of Real Estate, Planning and Geoinformatics

Martti Lehti, Researcher, University of Helsinki, Institute of Criminology and Legal Policy
(Janne Kivivuori, Research Director, University of Helsinki, Institute of Criminology and Legal Policy)

Mari Koskelainen, Psychologist, Police University College
(Reijo Lähde, Senior Lecturer, Laurea University of Applied Sciences, Espoo)

Kaisa Saario, Advisor, Finland Chamber of Commerce
(Risto Karhunen, Director, Federation of Finnish Financial Services)

Marja-Riitta Vest, Director of Development and Strategy, Regional State Administrative Agency, Western and Inland Finland
(Riku-Matti Lehikoinen, Director, Regional State Administrative Agency, Southern Finland)

Pentti Lemmetyinen, CEO, Finnish Federation of Settlement Houses
(Pia Rosengård-Andersson, Family Affair Specialist, Folkhälsan)

Päivi Okuogume, Special Planning Officer, Office of Non-Discrimination Ombudsman
(Sami Puumala, Advisor, Church Council)

Marjut Vuorela, Lawyer, The Central Union for the Welfare of the Aged
(Leena-Kaisa Åberg, Executive Director, Victim Support Finland)

Published 4.10.2017
Back to top |